Energy and Mineral Regulatory Commission (EMRC)

Energy and Mineral Regulatory Commission (EMRC)


Sectors Regulated:

Electricity, Oil and Natural Gas, Natural Resources, Renewable Energy, Radiation and Nuclear Activity
  • P.O Box  1865, Bayader Wadi Alsir
    11821 Amman, Jordan
  • +962 6 580 5000

Regulatory Authority General Information

  • Joined ERRA in 2007
  • as Electricity Regulatory Commission (ERC).
  • Established in 2014


  • Legal basis/ mandate
  • Energy and Minerals Regulatory Commission (EMRC) is a governmental body that possess a legal personality with financial and administrative independence and is considered the legal successor of the Electricity Regulatory Commission (ERC) and the Jordan Nuclear Regulatory Commission (JNRC) and the Natural Resources Authority (NRA) in relation to its regulatory tasks according to law No. (17) for the year ( 2014 ) regarding the restructuring of institutions and governmental organizations.
  • Responsibilities
  • EMRC has been keen to ensure balance between the interests of consumers, licensees, investors and any other stakeholders, maintaining the interests of consumers, and maintaining and improving the efficiency of the structure of the sector, ensuring the provision of safe, stable, durable and high quality services, providing public safety conditions and requirements, protecting the environment and human health and property in accordance with the provisions of legislation related to the organization of the sector through the application and implementation of laws, regulations, and instructions for EMRC regulatory work to the energy sector, natural resources, minerals, radiation and nuclear work, and petroleum derivatives in the Kingdom, including:
    – radiation protection, and nuclear safety and security;
    – generation, transmission, distribution and supply of electric power;
    – renewable energy;
    – petroleum, petroleum products, and natural gas;
    – oil shale and coal;
    – biofuel

Organisational Structure

  • Internal Structure
  • The organizational structure of the Commission consists of the Board of Commissioners, CEO, the departments, directorates and units.