Energy Regulatory Commission (ERC)

Energy Regulatory Commission (ERC)


Sectors Regulated:

Electricity, District Heating, Coal for Energy Generation
  • J. Sambuugiin Str. 30, Baga toiruu, Sukhbaatar District 14201 Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
  •  +976 11 320 126

Regulatory Authority General Information

  • Joined ERRA in 2001
  • Established in 2001


  • Legal basis/ mandate
  • Energy law, Renewable Energy law, Energy Conservation Law.
  • Responsibilities
  • The ERC regulates matters related to energy (electricity and heat energy) generation, transmission, distribution, dispatching and supply in accordance with the Energy Law of Mongolia. Responsibilities include reviewing and setting of electricity and heat energy tariffs, energy price indexation, licensing and inspection/monitoring of generation, transmission, distribution and supply services, dispute resolution, complain handling. In parallel, the Commission is authorized by Energy Conservation Law to implement and coordinate energy efficiency policy in Mongolia.
  • Authorities
  • Independence: An independent and separate legal entity.
  • Supervised by the Board of Commissioners that consists of five Commissioners appointed by the Prime Minister.
  • Reports to: ERC reports annually to the Ministry of Energy and Licensees according to the Article 9.1.20 of the Energy Law of Mongolia.
  • Appeal process: ERC decisions are appealed to Court within 10-30 days from being designated.

Organisational Structure

  • Organigram
  • Organigram: ERC Mongolia (2022)
  • Internal Structure
  • The members of the board of commissioners shall be appointed by the Prime Minister whereby the Chairperson and two commissioners are proposed by the Cabinet Minister in charge of energy and the other two commissioners are proposed by the Mongolian National Chamber of the Trade and Industry and by the Consumer Right Protection Association respectively. The Commissioners are appointed for a term of 2,4 or 6 years with the right of re-appointment for another 3 years.
  • Working Employees
  • • Decision-Making Level: Board of Commissioners – 5; Regulatory Boards of Province and Capital – 21
  • • Total Number of Employees: 92
  • Budget
  • License application and regulation fees.