Member Profile

Energy and Water Regulatory Commission (EWRC)

Sectors Regulated:

  • Electricity
  • Natural Gas
  • District Heating
  • Water
  • Wastewater

ERRA Membership

  • Joined ERRA in 2000 (Founding Member)


  • Established in 1999


  • Legal basis
  • Energy Act (last amended  6 March 2015) , Water Supply and Sewage Services Regulation Act and the relevant secondary legislation.
  • Responsibilities
  • Natural gas, electricity, district heating and water supply and sewage.

    EWRC is responsible for tariff setting and quality of services of enterprises in the gas, electric, district heating and water supply and sewage sectors. EWRC is also responsible for licensing of enterprises in the gas, electric and district heating sectors and issues permits for construction of transit gas or oil pipelines.

  • Authorities
  • Independent

    Reports to the Parliament

    Appeal process: All decisions of EWRC can be appealed to the Supreme Administrative Court within 14 days from publication. Scope of review – procedures and legal errors

Organisational Structure

  • Organigram
  • Internal Structure
  • The Commission has 9 members (chairman, 1 economist, 1 lawyer, 4 responsible for energy sector and 2 for water supply and sewage sector) nominated by Parliament’ resolution and appointed for a five-year period and could be re-appointed.
  • Working Employees
  • Number of Commissioners: 9
  • Number of Staff: 128
  • Budget
  • Financed from the fees collected under the Energy Act and the Water Supply and Sewage Services Regulation Act.

Population: 7 144 653 (2016 est.) 

GDP / Capita: $ 7 091 (2016 est.)

Territory: 110 879 km2 (105. in World rank)