Russian Federation

Member Profile

Federal Antimonopoly Service (FAS Russia)

  • 11 Sadovaya-Kudrinskaya Str., 125993 Moscow, D-242, GSP-3, Russian Federation  
  •  +7 499 755 23 23 (ext. 088-455)

Sectors Regulated:

  • Electricity
  • Natural Gas
  • LPG
  • District Heating
  • Water
  • Wastewater
  • Oil Transportation
  • Telecommunication
  • Post
  • Railway
  • Services of cargo Terminals
  • Ports
  • Airports

ERRA Membership

  • Joined ERRA in 2000 (Founding Member)
  • as Legal successor of Federal Tariff Service (FTS of Russia)


  • Established in 2004


  • Legal basis
  • Determined by the Federal Law of 17 August 1995 №147-FZ “On natural monopolies” and the Federal Law of 26 July 2006 №135-FZ “On protection of competition”; the Resolution of the Russian Government dated 30 June 2004 №331 “On approval of the Federal Antimonopoly Service”. Other authorities are determined by industrial laws and the Statute about the FAS Russia.

Organisational Structure

  • Internal Structure
  • The Head and his deputies are appointed by the Government of the Russian Federation on a permanent basis (indefinite terms of office). The FAS Russia consists of a central unit (30 divisions) and 85 regional offices.
  • Working Employees
  • Number of Commissioners: 12 members from the collegial body of the FAS Russia, which is composed of: The Head of FAS (Chairman), 4 Deputy Heads of FAS Russia and also representatives of other relevant federal executive bodies.
  • Number of staff at the Central Office: 1189

    Number of staff in Regional Offices: 2315

  • Budget
  • The expenses for the maintenance of the central offices of the Federal Antimonopoly Service and its regional offices are carried out by funds provided by the federal budget.

Population: 146.8 mln (2017) 

GDP / Capita: $ 8 664 (2017)

Territory: 17 098 246 km2 (1. in World rank)


Igor ARTEMIEV - Head of the FAS Russia

Licensing and Competition Committee Member

Aleksey VORONIN - Deputy Head of the Electricity Regulation Department

Tariff and Pricing Committee Member

Maxim PALYANOV - Head of the Division of Antimonopoly Control of the Wholesale Electricity Market, Electricity Regulation Department

Customers and Retail Markets Working Group Member

Svetlana BAGDANTSEVA - Head of the Wholesale Electricity Market Tariff Regulation Division of the Electricity Regulation Department