Member Profile

Nigerian Electricity Regulatory Commission (NERC)

  • Plot 1387, Cadastral Zone A00, Central Business District, PMB 136
    Abuja, Nigeria
  •  +234 09 462 1400

Sectors Regulated:

  • Electricity

ERRA Membership

  • Joined ERRA in 2010 (became Full Member in 2016) 


  • Established in 2005
  • by Electric Power Sector Reform Act, 2005.


  • Legal basis
  • Electric Power Sector Reform Act 2005.
  • Responsibilities
  • Electricity Regulation (issue licenses and permits, establish tariffs, promote competition, establish and approve operating codes to ensure service supply quality, establish appropriate consumer rights and obligations, monitor the operation of the electricity market, protect grid stability, organize activities promoting the conservation of energy and renewable energy initiatives etc.).
  • Authorities
  • Independence: Independent institution

    Reports to: President and National Assembly on a quarterly basis and upon request

    The Ministry of Power is responsible for policy formulation for the power sector

    Appeal process: NERC decisions are appealed to Court on issues of law

Organisational Structure

  • Internal Structure
  • Board of 7 Commissioners one of whom is Chairman and Chief Executive Officer. They are appointed for an initial term of four years with an option to renew for another 4 years and no more. They are nominated for appointment by the President but their nomination must be approved by the National Assembly (The Parliament).
  • Working Employees
  • None. One Ag. Chairman/CEO
  • Number of Staff: 167
  • Budget
  • $45, 421,800.43 (2011)

Population: 186 053 386 (2016 est.)

GDP / Capita: $ 6 100 (2015 est.)

Territory: 923 768 km2 (32. in World rank)

Information will be uploaded soon.