Member Profile

Public Utilities Commission (PUC)

  • 45 Unijas Street
    Riga, Latvia
  •  +371 67 097 220

Sectors Regulated:

  • Electricity
  • Natural Gas
  • District Heating
  • Water
  • Wastewater
  • Telecommunication
  • Post

ERRA Membership

  • Joined ERRA in 2000 (Founding Member) 


  • Established in 2001


  • Legal basis
  • Law on Regulators of Public Services, Energy Law, Electricity Market Law, Law on Electronic Communications, Postal Law and other legal acts concerning regulated sectors and public administration.
  • Responsibilities
  • Is a multi-sector regulator overseeing electricity, natural gas, district heating, electronic communications and post, water supply and waste deposit. It is responsible for licensing/registration, tariffs, protecting consumer interests, promoting competition, resolving disputes and controlling quality.
  • Authorities
  • Independence: has the status of fully autonomous state institution

    Reports to the Parliament annually

    Appeal process: Administrative Court

Organisational structure

  • Organigram
  • Internal Structure
  • The Parliament (Saeima), following the recommendation of the Cabinet of Ministers, appoints 5 Commissioners of the PUC’s Board for the period of 5 years (can be reappointed for the second term). There is no staggered approach stipulated in appointing appointing of Commissioners. The decision-making body of the PUC is its Board. The PUC has structural units corresponding to each regulated sector and support units.
  • Working Employees
  • Number of Commissioners: 5
  • Number of Staff: 117
  • Budget
  • Is financed through regulated services’ providers. The duty to be paid to the PUC should not exceed 0,2 % of the net turnover of regulated services.

Population: 1 919 968 (2019, Population at the beginning of the year)

GDP / Capita: € 15 821 (2019, current prices); US dollar/Euro ECB reference exchange rate 1.1195 (2019, average)

Territory: 64 589 km2 (124. in World rank)