Member Profile

ECOWAS Regional Electricity Regulatory Authority (ERERA)

  • Energy Commission Building, Ghana Airways Road, Airport Residential Area 
    PMB 76 Ministries Post Office
    Accra, Ghana 
  •  +233 302 817 047

Sectors Regulated:

  • Electricity

ERRA Membership

  •  Joined ERRA in 2011 


  • Established in 2008
  • by Supplementary Act A/sa.2/1/08


  • Legal basis
  • ECOWAS Supplementary Act A/sa.2/1/08 of 2008 and ECOWAS Regulation C/Reg.27/12/07 as amended.
  • Responsibilities
  • Regulation of cross-border electricity connections and trading among ECOWAS member States (establishment of transparent tariff setting methodology for regional power pooling; technical regulation; monitoring of regional market operations; resolving disputes among regional market participants; contributing to the development of regional energy policy and assisting in building capacity of National Regulatory Bodies.
  • Authorities
  • Independence: Independent Regulator

    Reports to: ECOWAS Council of Ministers

    Appeal process: ERERA’s decisions are appealed to the ECOWAS Court of Justice on issues of law

Organisational Structure

  • Internal Structure
  • Board of 3 Council Members, one of whom is Chairman.. They are appointed for a single non-renewable term of five years by the ECOWAS Council of Ministers.
  • Working Employees
  • Number of Commissioners: 3
  • Number of Staff: 20
  • Budget
  • License fees; ECOWAS subvention and grants

Population: N/A

GDP / Capita: N/A

Territory: N/A

Information will be uploaded soon.