Boyd, David

Vice President, Government and Regulatory Affairs
Midcontinent Independent System Operator (MISO)

David Boyd, Vice President of Government and Regulatory Affairs, serves as MISO’s primary liaison with the governors and state regulatory and legislative policymakers in the MISO region. In addition, he monitors and integrates the activities of federal regulators and legislators into MISO’s overall policies.

Dr. Boyd previously served as a member of the Minnesota Public Utilities Commission from 2007 until joining MISO in 2015, including three years served as chair. Dr. Boyd was a member of the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners (NARUC) Board of Directors and Chair of the NARUC Committee on Electricity.

He was also a member of the NARUC Committee on International Relations, Subcommittee on Clean Coal and Carbon Sequestration, Subcommittee on Nuclear Issues-Waste Disposal and member and Vice Chair of the Subcommittee on Education and Research. He also served as Chair of the Nuclear Waste Strategy Coalition. Dr. Boyd is the 2013 recipient of NARUC’s prestigious Terry Barnich Award for his contributions in building international regulatory relationships.

Dr. Boyd served as Vice Chair of the International Confederation of Energy Regulators (ICER). He also served as President of the Eastern Interconnection States’ Planning Council (EISPC), the Subcommittee Steering Committee (SSC) of the Eastern Interconnect Planning Collaborative (EIPC), and was a member of the Organization of Midcontinent ISO States (OMS) Board of Directors. He was a member of the Mid America Regulatory Conference (MARC) and served on their Executive Committee, and was appointed to the Electric Power Research Institute (EPRI) Advisory Council. He previously co-chaired the Upper Midwest Transmission Development Initiative (UMTDI).

Prior to serving as a commissioner, Dr. Boyd was a member of the faculty of the University of St. Thomas chemistry department for 20 years. Dr. Boyd holds a B.A. degree with majors in biology and chemistry from St. Olaf College, and a Ph.D. degree in chemistry from the University of Minnesota.