Member Profile

Bhutan Electricity Authority (BEA)

  •  P.O.Box 1557
     Thimphu, Bhutan 
  •  +975 2 327 317

Sectors Regulated:

  • Electricity

ERRA Membership

  • Joined ERRA in 2016


  • Established in 2006
  • The Electricity Act of Bhutan 2001 came into effect only from 1st July 2005. Therefore, in pursuant to the Electricity Act 2001, the Bhutan Electricity Authority (BEA) was established in 2006 with the appointment of its Commissioners (its Secretariat still remaining within the civil service). The full autonomy of BEA was achieved with effect from January 2010 with delinking of its Secretariat from the civil service.


  • Legal basis
  • The establishment, responsibilities and functions of the BEA as the electricity regulator is in accordance to provisions enshrined in the Electricity Act of Bhutan 2001.
  • Responsibilities
  • BEA regulates the electricity sector in the country through (i) issuance of Licence for construction and operation of hydropower generation, transmission, distribution and retail business; (ii) determination of electricity tariff of generation, transmission, distribution and retail; (iii) promotion of electrical safety in the electricity industry, and ensuring of power supply quality and efficient grid security.
  • Authorities
  • BEA has authority to issue licence to construct the hydropower, transmission, distribution and retail business; determine annual electricity tariff in all electricity sector; and to ensure electrical safety in the country.

Organisational Structure

  • Organigram
  • Internal Structure
  • As per the provisions of the Electricity Act, all the Commissioners and Chief Executive Officer (CEO) are appointed by the Minister (for power sector) for a period not exceeding 5 years. The CEO is the ex-officio member secretary and full-time head of the Secretariat. However, the Commissioners are not appointed on full-time basis. The BEA Secretariat has three departments, namely, technical department, economic department and administration and finance department.
  • Working Employees
  • Number of Commissioners: 6 including the Member Secretary. As per the Electricity Act, a minimum of four members are required.
  • Number of Staff: 36 (excluding the Commissioners)
  • Budget
  • The annual budget is funded mainly through collection of annual licence fees and other charges from licensees.

Population: 750 125 (2016 est.)

GDP / Capita: $ 2 635 (2016 est.)

Territory: 38 394 km2 (137. in World ranking)